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New Government Offices in Aberystwyth

A new office base has been inaugurated by First Minister Rhodri Morgan in the Aberystwyth locality. The building will house various departmental workers like those from economy, transport, rural affairs, heritage etc. The government shared office complex has been constructed as part of an earlier proposal to construct three such complexes in various locations.

The Aberystwyth governmental base has taken around £20m to construct. First Minister Morgan stated that Wales has now come closer to the administrative heart of the country with the presence of this complex in the locality. He further pointed out that now the people of this locality will have ease of access to administrative channels to resolve local issues and to bring their views to the fore. With full staff strength of 535, the building will be fully functional by this year-end. However, by the end of 2010, all the employees will be in place without fail.

Some of the employees who will be working out of this office space are expected to be moved in from various areas around Wales. Moreover, new designations and positions are to be created here. With the functioning of this office, new civil servant jobs will be created and distributed around Wales.

This complex is one of three proposed governmental complexes to be built in different locations. The third and last will be built in Llandudno Junction in 2010. The projects are expected to create more familiarity among the administrative echelons with local issues and developmental possibilities.

Why I Decided I Would a Man and Van

There is now a inexpensive and trustworthy way of moving your stuff from one home to another or one office to another. At first everyone was employing removals service, but there is now another way, man and van services! Man and van companies are a great way to save a few pounds, and also can help the environment.If you use a large removals company then they may well use a big van or truck. Using an unnecessarily big truck means that the truck or van will produce more carbon dioxide than a smaller one. Use the correct sized van or truck for your move, don’t use a van or truck which is too big.I found the man and van company that I used on the internet. A lot of my time and effort was saved by simply using the internet. At first I had looked in the yellow pages but couldn’t find any that looked dependable. I managed to move from my old house to my new one in just five hours. Another good thing to remember when looking for a man and van service is that it is simpler to get one that can also offer packaging materials. So when looking for these services remember to take your time and be sure to chose a man and van service which is right for you.

Buying Spanish Property: an Accurate Depection of the Legal Process

Once youve chosen your ideal property and found a Spanish mortgage how do you go about completing the purchase?


In Spain, the process of purchasing Spanish property is regulated, and the best thing that you can do to protect your interests is to employ an English-speaking solicitor or lawyer to assist you. Be certain there are no debts or restrictions on the property you plan to purchase.


The legal process for buying a Spanish property falls into two different categories. First you have the preliminary contract, or Contrato privado de compraventa, and then you have the completion contract, or Escritura de compraventa.


A preliminary individual sale bill should be signed after both sides agree to the cost. Before the Contrato privado de compraventa is signed, the vendor must show proof of ownership, and also proof that there are no liens or judgements against the property. In Spain, debts are attached to the property, so any mortgage that was outstanding would transfer to the buyer. Nota Simple documents are designed to confirm whether or not a property contains any outstanding debts.

Details such as completion date, price and description will be written in the first sales contract. When you reach this point, you can expect to pay a deposit of 5-15%. This money shall be held in escrow for your benefit. A person would theoretically be able to sign the initial sales contract without a deposit, but it isn’t necessarily a good idea.


The Escritura de compraventa stage, is the second or final contract stage. On the completion date, the balance of the price of purchase and all fees need to be paid by the purchaser. The buyer and seller will meet to finalize the deal with a contract, which is the same as a deed on the property. Also known in Spain as the escritura, the purchaser will received this deed which is usually in front of a Notary Public. In order for everything to be legal a copy of the deed will have to go through the tax office and property registry. If you are in Spain, a Notary Public will be required as a witness on you deed of sale. Don’t just rely in that, though. You will want to have your own lawyer to keep your best interests foremost throughout the proceeeding. Remember too that as the buyer you will be responsible for paying the Notary Public’s charges along with the real estate sales taxes.

Making Your Home Removal Easy

This is a short guide offering a few hints on how to find a dependable home removals service in your region, as it can be quiet tricky more frequently than not.Things such as packaging materials and warehousing choices are really good things to have included with the removals costs, but even if you have to pay extra for these things it’s better that the company you are employing will offer you them.With these addible services included you will save yourself alot of time and strain looking for separate companies who can supply you with everything you need.Getting a home removals company that possesses a range of various sized vans or trucks, using a removals service which will use a van or truck that matches the size of your move will save on carbon dioxide and therefore keep the damage caused to the environment to a minimum. Moving home is really disagreeable and the last thing you will want to be grappling with is rude or unprofessional removals men, this is the toughest part of picking out a removals service as it is often very hard to tell who is responsible and who isn’t. A poor removals company is much more likely to have a low quality web site that won’t be able to assist you much. A good way that i found of ranking dependability is by evaluating the professionalism of the various companies websites, ordinarily a good removals service will have a well presented website with a lot of helpful info on it.I hope these few tips will help you when deciding which removals service to use.

Henderson Planning on a Project Even as Rental Rates Plummet

Mike Sales who is the head of property investments at Henderson Global Investors said that his company was trying to raise some funding to start a new project. The project is believed to be good for the future when the situation improves and rental rates go up again.

However, Sales doesn’t think the times are going to change any time soon. He thinks it will be at least five years before the 2007 rates are back in the market. He expressed his opinion on the current offices to rent London market situation while speaking at the recent Reuters Global Real Estate Summit in London.

Sales said that the real estate rental rates were not likely to see a rise any time soon. On the contrary, they would only fall further reaching a bottom by the year-end. He also mentioned about the reluctance of developers to work on any new office space projects, as they are very wary of the current situation and feared they wouldn’t get their money back.

The situation has developed from the widespread job losses that the worldwide recession has inflicted. The rental rates have come down by 44% since the beginning of the year 2007 and they are all set to go down to about 50%. With no respite in sight, a lot of prestigious projects have been shelved from the London’s financial district. ‘Cheesegrater’, the Leadenhall skyscraper, to be built by British Land Company and ‘Walkie talkie’ a 36-storey skyscraper to be erected on 20 Fenchuch Street have become victims of this recession.

My Shiny New Home Alarm Systems

I have been surfing for a home security systems for 1 year now and I finally purchased a security system that seems to fit my house, my husband and kids and our lifestyle.

We researched plenty of different alarm companies to check the lowest cost selection as opposed to the most high-ticket pick. I must say, that I was felt duped with most of the sites we looked at but one stood out to me and that was FamilyHomeSecurity.com. Their security system information was special, eye opening and edifying. I wish they were a company that set up protection systems themselves because I know it would be done smartly and with lots of attending to cleanliness.

What made it a loose experience? Well, we experienced a breaking and entering six weeks ago that wasn’t very fun. Fortuitously, we were out of town and they merely got jewellery and dollar bills. Now there are children in the household and a mass more precious stuff like computing machines, electronics, and above all - family and family memories and pic. We simply sought to find the foremost alarm system that we could all use and feel fail-safe with. It was emphatically time to find one this week.

So, how did I happen the right alarm system? We set out by seeking ‘home alarms’ on the search engines, then ranged through all of the web sites on the first page. A plenty of them were scrap…and I was sorry about that. Everybody I says Yahoo is the strongest…anyhow, aftermost looking through those web sites we couldn’t get what we were waiting for. We aren’t looking for want a poor sales procedure and we didn’t want to think a great deal about it. Almost all of these websites were pesky sales pitches - I wanted information!

Some of the companies we studied were ADT, Brinks, APX, Pinnacle, Monitronics and GE. Several of them seem to utilize analogous home security systems…and we at long last wound up with a Pinnacle Security system after perusing the great info received at homesecurityguru and FamilyHomeSecurity.com.

It’s decent to see great clarifying internet sites out there on the subject of protection systems.

Until next time!

The Father Of Virtual Real Estate Investing Comments On His Industry

A newcomer to the world of investments in the notion of “Virtual Real Estate Investing“. There are many variations on what this term means, encompassing everything from using the internet to aid in real estate investing efforts to participating in online games such as SecondLife.

To separate fact from fiction, I asked Bryan Ellis of BryanEllis.com for comments. He’s the man many consider to be the father of this new form of investing.

Ellis says he adopted the term “virtual real estate investing” sometime before Y2K after he realized that making money online is conceptually very similar to making money with physical real estate.

An example of the similar nature of “virtual” and “physical” real estate Bryan Ellis likes to point out is the methods of making a profit from domain names compared to physical real estate. He points out that control of a domain name or even a specific web page is much like controlling a real estate property ” those assets can be monetized in similar ways: By selling them for a profit, by leasing them, by offering advertising, etc.

I must admit: Its easy to see the parallels. For example, if you’re the owner of a desirable property, its desirability is (in a business context) largely due to its being in a location that is of interest to others. Similarly, ownership of a desirable domain name is valuable for the same reasons. So it doesn’t matter if you own physical real estate or virtual real estate - you’ll likely use similar strategies to turn them into money in your pocket.

In our next installment of this series on virtual real estate investing, Bryan Ellis will share the internet analogies to the physical concept of real estate development.

Sunshine Can save Money

As the price of home heating oil, natural gas, electricity and other forms of energy continue to rise, many bill payers are are wondering just how far the cost of fuel can rise. Some homeowners however are considering the installation of the solar power equipment that will allow them to channel the energy of the sun to provide energy for their dwellings.

When fuel prices were low, it was unnecessary to justify the upfront outlay of money required to install solar panels, solar water heaters and similar equipment. The reason was simple to understand - it would simply take too long to recoup the cost of the equipment in the form of lower energy bills.

But prices are now higher than many of us ever expected. As energy prices continue to go up, the amount of time required to recoup the upfront cost goes down. In addition, a number of state and local tax incentives make it even easier for homeowners to go solar and save money right away.

Solar power has already proven itself and its ability to lower energy costs substantially, and more and more homeowners are taking a serious look at converting their residences to solar power. The costs of installing solar panels is still high, with a typical two kilowatt installation of solar panels from OVR Solar costing about £10,000 / ($20, 000) in most cases, but special tax incentives and long term energy savings can help homeowners recoup those upfront costs faster than ever before.

Subsidies are also now available. This tax savings can help eligible homeowners recoup some of the costs of installing solar panels and solar water heating systems up front, in addition to the energy savings they will enjoy down the road.

Some states will offer homeowners who install qualifying solar panel or water heating systems to write off a portion of the cost against tax liability, while others will provide a standard tax credit based on kilowatt usage. Still others provide tax relief in the form of property tax reductions or elimination, and many states provide businesses, government agencies and commercial enterprises with special tax breaks as well.

Try running some estimates once you have some figures to see how long it might take for you to break even at today’s fuels prices. However, as the prices for heating oil, gas and other forms of traditional energy continue to soar, demand for solar installations will mirror this growth.

Take the first step to energy self sufficiency with OVR Solar.

Are You Trying to Hit a Home Run With Your Prospects Without Asking Them on a Date?

Real Estate email marketing

Do you remember the old School girl/boy game of “Around the World”, or “Around the Bases”? If you got a kiss you got to First Base. A french Kiss was Second Base. Read further to find out how to hit a Home Run!

Are You Trying to Hit a Home Run With Your Prospects Without Asking Them on a Date?

Most prospects are only leaving their phone number about 1/3 of the time. So 2/3 are leaving just a name and email. If you don’t have a strategy to approach this group, you are losing big time because your cost per lead skyrockets.

If you invest $9,000 a year into your online real estate marketing campaign. And you get 500 leads a month, your Cost per Lead is $1.50*. But if you aren’t touching your email only leads, then you are affectively only getting 165. Your Cost Per Click jumps over three times to $4.55!
*$9000 a year/12=$750 a month. $750/500 leads=$1.50;$750/165=$4.55)

Email marketing is the most important part of online marketing. Yet, I find that it is the least understood, and least time spent by Online Realty professionals. Some agents will spend all day on their website. They will effort on SEO to capture a real estate lead. Yet, they never spend the time to strategize on how to court the opt in subscriber.

Marketing your real estate services thru email is about getting to the first date. Then the second, and then third. Until there is a marriage whereby you both swear allegiance to one another. And of course like many modern day relationships, this guy or gal will break this allegiance as soon as the scent of the next “hottie” walks past.

You may not even get to First Base let alone hit a home run. And your prospect may not even let you go on a second date. But one thing is for sure you will never get to a sale unless you start at the beginning. Then you can get to First Base….and second and so on. But most agents try to steal a kiss, without even asking the prospect out!

Instead of being “easy”, think of your prospect as that guy or gal you have to beg and beg to go out out with you. And then after all that finessing she only agrees to go to breakfast! You have to strategize to win her over. You bring flowers. You do apparant random acts of kindness just to get to a second date and maybe first base. Before Free Love, this was called Courting.

Your prospect is not a product of the 60’s. They believe that their loyalty comes with a cost. They want to be courted and you to prove yourself worthy. And making your listings available or offering a free report is a nice olive branch, but this frigid Diva expects some major courting. Do you really want this gal? Are you going to take care of her in good times and bad? Then you gotta pah-roove it.

The fact is that the vast amount of your prospects will not leave a phone number, and most won’t take any serious action for several weeks. As I explained in one of my Ten Commandments of Online Marketing, people typically come to a real estate website to compare property. And they just do not know what they do not know.

At this point there is very little or no loyalty to you or your website. As long as the info flows, and they can get your MLS listings they will be happy enough to revisit your site, if for only the new home listings.

So in order to breed loyalty and afinity you must do a few specific actions.

Get yourself an Autoreponder/Drip Email system.

These automatic email systems communicate with your prospect while you sleep. You write your letters and articles once. And the system will send a mailer on pre-programmed days for ever. Until your prospect raises their hand and says I am interested to take this relationship to the next level.

Take your list and segment them.

Why would you segment your visitors? Because they think they are the most important person in the world. And if you want them to think you are the most important Realtor in the world, you have to make them important first.

This goes eons beyond dividing your prospects into buyers and sellers, and hot, medium and cold. Your email communications to a 30 year Vet at IBM should convey a unique tone and context diferent than your typical communication with say a self employed-entreupreneiral Contractor.

Educate & Interact

When you can get someone to have an “aha” experience, you often times will etch out a piece of their brain for you. Congratulations! You have now risen above just Real Estate agent. You are above the rest because you have become not just someone who sells real estate. But someone who cares enough to take the time to care for this person who is the most important person in the world.

How? Teach them and get them to move along the sales funnel by bringing them to your site to learn and or get valuable and free reports.

I am not talking about the typical pre-written Real Estate articles and newsletters. You need to pour blood and write from your experience, from your heart. Would you send the object of your affection a templated love letter from a book? What would her reaction be? Thats the same reaction you will get from your prospect.

Your personality and expertise will shine thru and you will seperate yourself from all the others whom are too lazy to prove that they are an expert. Which is why when you do it, you will profit handsomely.

As you get your real estate prospect to interact with you and your site. You can ask them to reveal more and more until you have enough information to segment them, and take them to the next level of your relationship. And then perhaps they will want to do more than just “go out with you”.

Search Engine Marketing is continually changing. The real estate profession is getting more and more compeititve online. Find out how to succeed online at Spider Juice Technologies

Speculation v Investment

What most people loosely refer to as ‘real estate flipping’ these days is no flipping at all - it is reselling for a profit. This is so because most market participants finalize the transaction before reselling their newly acquired interest in land for a mark-up. The implication is that they actually use their own money to complete - a classic real estate investment. The true fine art of ‘flipping’ houses or other real assets, on the other hand, consists in reselling an interest prior to closing. A Buyer of a subjects-free contract of purchase and sale will find another Buyer for the same interest ready, willing and able to purchase prior to the first Buyer completing the deal. The implication is that the first Buyer merely puts the deposit out of his own funds - a classic real estate speculation.

True real estate flipping, albeit not an illegal practice per se, will get you in trouble more often than not and notwithstanding anything Donald Trump will have to say on the subject. In fact, it’s gotten him in trouble as well. It is also a practice not favorably looked upon by many Boards and professional associations within organized real estate. At the centre of it all is the definition of market value with its element of proper exposure to market conditions. Imagine a purchaser that convinces a seller to accept an offer of, say, $300,000 for a single family detached house with completion in three months and a $15,000 deposit. Then, about half a way through the purchaser finds a second buyer willing to pay $350,000 for the same interest and to complete on the same day as the first contract. Come completion date the original purchaser will close on the second contract first. As it takes at least one day for documents to be couriered to the respective conveyancers and about a month (in British Columbia) for the transfer of ownership to be recorded and the new title registered at the Land Title Office, this little trick will allow the original Buyer to walk away with a neat $50,000 in his pockets, without having used his own money practically at all. As market value is, by definition, the price that a real property is reasonably expected to fetch after adequate time and exposure to market conditions, a real question arises as to whether or not the Seller in this example has received full market value for his property.

Flipping potentially encompasses an element of negligent misrepresentation, at the very least, all the more so if someone with special skills and knowledge - such as a Realtor - is involved. But even if no real estate professional is involved, the Courts have long since ruled that under certain circumstances mere silence or half truths may have the same effect as misrepresentation and are, thus, actionable at law. In some cases such misrepresentations may be even qualified as fraudulent. As no reasonable Seller will, if given a choice, sell his property for $300,000 as opposed to $350,000 lawyers have been quick at crying out loud foul play when contacted by disgruntled sellers. But beyond the legality and morality of flipping practices, there is a real economic question as to whether flipping merely contributes to the speculative inflationary ravages that ultimately reveal themselves detrimental for the entire economy, especially when they involve large ticket items such as real capital assets. This is not the case when it comes to investing or, for that matter, reselling for profit, which is looked upon as a regular part of doing business in any market. Which, then, opens up again the ages old debate going on in the economic community as it relates to the impact of speculation vis–vis investment.

The role of speculators in a free market economy is to absorb risk and add very little liquidity to the market place. In fact, more often than not, speculators will reduce market liquidity by inflating prices - the principal effect of speculation - and by moving their newly made riches out of a particular market for use elsewhere. This would be the case in our previous example if the first purchaser, upon completing the first transaction decided to abandon real estate and invest his capital, including the $50,000 profit, into the stock market. Moreover the effect of price increases, particularly in the short run, is to reduce the pool of buyers thus hampering demand and reducing prices even further - the classic economic bubble. Investors, on the other hand, play an entirely different role. In theoretical Economics the term ‘investment’ refers to the purchase and holding of capital goods, which are not instantaneously consumed - i.e. sold for profit - but, rather, used at a later date. Therefore a purchaser that buys a fixer-up, remodels and sells it later on for a mark-up is an investor, not a speculator. The same is true for a buyer of a property under foreclosure.

Risk management when it comes to investment is also well defined. More particularly, investment is in direct function of the underlying relation between personal income or capital appreciation, depending upon the nature of the subject property being bought and sold, and interest rates. An increase in personal income, just like an increase in capital appreciation will encourage investment to a higher degree which, in turn, will spur demand causing a proximate levitation of prices and subsequent economic expansion. Conversely, higher interest rates will discourage investment by heightening the cost of financing resulting in a lower demand and, thus, depressing prices and causing an economic constrain. Even if an investor decides to use his own funds exclusively, the measure of risk will be given by the equation between the underlying opportunity cost of investing versus the lending of those same funds for an interest profit, a process known as maximization of use of capital resources.

It all ultimately boils down to the business plan embraced by the singular market participant. If the objective is to make a ‘quick buck’ through flipping and short term speculation, the measured risk of the acquisition is considerably higher and, in ultimate analysis, no better option than the leveraged capital appreciation through investment holding.

Luigi Frascati

Luigi Frascati - EzineArticles Expert Author

Luigi Frascati is a Real Estate Agent based in Vancouver, British Columbia. He holds a Bachelor Degree in Economics and maintains a weblog entitled the Real Estate Chronicle at http://wwwrealestatechronicle.blogspot.com where you can find the full collection of his articles. Luigi is associated with the Sutton Group, the largest real estate organization in Canada, and is based with Sutton-Centre Realty in Burnaby, BC.

Luigi is very proud to be an EzineArticles Platinum Expert Author. Your rating at the footer of this Article is very much appreciated. Thank you.

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